Work permits ban on red-list nations

Bahrain has announced a temporary ban on new work permits to job-seekers from the coronavirus (Covid-19) red-list countries.

The Labour Market Regulatory Authority’s (LMRA) measure, aimed at curbing the spread of Covid-19, follows Bahrain last month limiting entry to people from five countries – India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Nepal.

These countries have been reporting high infection rates and are labelled as particularly high-risk for new and emerging strains of the coronavirus.

“Based on the directives and procedures from the co-ordinating committee and recommendations of the National Taskforce for Combating Covid-19 co-ordinating committee, the LMRA took the initiative to stop the issuance of new work permits temporarily to those coming from the countries on the red list,” said the labour watchdog on its Instagram page.

It also added that “this initiative aims to contribute to strengthening Bahrain’s tireless efforts to overcome the critical stage of this pandemic”.

Bahrain had suspended the entry of travellers from the red-list countries from May 24, with the exception of Bahraini citizens and residency visa holders, who must present an approved PCR test certificate conducted no more than 48 hours prior to boarding. They must undertake another PCR test on arrival and on the 10th day of stay. Additionally, they must quarantine for 10 days at their residence or at a licensed quarantine facility approved by the National Health Regulatory Authority.

The rules are also applicable to all vaccinated or non-vaccinated passengers arriving from countries other than the red list, with exemptions for certain categories.